My Tip for Accurate Drawings!

fullsizeoutput_aac

Recently, I’ve decided to make a conscious effort to start drawing a lot more. It is something I really enjoy doing, and actually, a really relaxing thing to do in the evenings instead of homework (for a change)! Although I do try to mix up what I do, in this particular example I have drawn a Volkswagen campervan. I don’t know why, but something about them just looks so cool, but also I chose it as I thought it was a good example of a way I could demonstrate my technique! I know it’s not a masterpiece, or 100% accurate, but everybody has to start somewhere, and, after all, I have to start getting some practice in for my GCSE!

Although some of you might have heard of it before, I thought I would share with you a technique that I use to get as good a drawing or sketch as possible. It is pretty simple; I just draw a 2cm square grid over the picture that I am copying, as well as on the piece of paper I’m drawing onto. This way I can see how the shape moves between the squares, and directly translate this onto the paper, which then creates a precise replica of the picture. Although this can’t be used when drawing objects that are in front of me, I do really like to use it when drawing pictures of both people and other objects.

I hope this helps some of you in some way! Let me know if you want me to share other artwork or tips!

xoxo, Liv

One thought on “My Tip for Accurate Drawings!

Leave a Reply

